Fargo’s Cool (and Cold!)

I’m at the Fargo Film Festival this week, where it’s 10 degrees colder than Saint Paul (what am I doing going to someplace that’s colder than where I live?)  It’s the tenth anniversary of the festival, and they had a great snow sculpture made for the opening night.  I met the executive director, Margi Bailly, and film programmer, Emily Beck, at Sundance 2009, and later sent them a festival copy of AU PAIR, KANSAS, which they loved, and then invited to screen here.  Alas, because APK didn’t make Sundance 2010, I had to tell them we couldn’t show APK at Fargo this year.  Margie read my KISASS Guide to Screenwriting, then invited me up to Fargo to do my ScreenwritingNOW! lecture, which I’ll do tomorrow.  At noon today I’ll host a luncheon seminar on screenwriting.  This is a cool little festival, with cool people, and they’ve put me up in the really hip Hotel Donaldson, which is like living in an art gallery.  Fargo Film Festival ROCKS!

2 Responses to “Fargo’s Cool (and Cold!)”


  1. 1 Bill April 15, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    When are we going to get to see Au Pair Kansas? We Lindsborg people want to see the movie.

    • 2 flydocfly April 15, 2010 at 5:36 pm

      I was in Fargo giving a Screenwriting Seminar, we didn’t officially show the movie there, have to wait until we have world premiere. Once we’ve had the world premiere, I’ll schedule a screening in Lindsborg and Salina. Also, the movie isn’t quite done yet, still working on sound and doing color correction on the images.

      I wish I was in Lindsborg having a pitcher at the Stuga. This movie has been an incredible amount of work, but I love the movie, and am hopefully it’ll find an audience. It should play at lots of festivals once we’ve had premiere.


Leave a Reply

